skip navigation
Home Beginners Teams Calendar News Registration Skills Videos Sponsors BOD Contact

Top High School Hockey Teams Clash for Year-End Tournament Championship, All-Stars Announced

02/26/2019, 11:45am CST
By Roger Kelly, VP Communications, MHSHL

AMES, Iowa – Top teams from the Midwest High School Hockey League will battle in Ames starting Thursday through Sunday for Varsity and Junior Varsity year-end tournament titles.

The regular-season’s top-eight Varsity teams take the ice Friday beginning at 12:00 noon with four quarterfinal, single-elimination matchups. Friday’s schedule:

Noon - #4 Omaha vs #5 Quad City
2:00 - #3 Cedar Rapids vs #6 Des Moines Capitals

4:00 - #2 Sioux City vs #7 Lincoln

6:00 - #1 Waterloo vs #8 Kansas City

Link to Varsity Tournament Bracket

Friday’s four winners advance to Saturday’s semifinals. The two semifinal winners then faceoff at 11:00 AM Sunday to decide a Varsity Tournament Champion. The JV tournament begins Thursday with four quarterfinal games and ends Saturday with the championship game.

The Waterloo Warriors enter the Varsity tournament as the number one seed after topping the rest of the field with a regular-season record of 29 wins, 2 losses and 1 shootout loss. Two Waterloo players set  new single-season records.

Senior goaltender Chase Pabst recorded 14 shutouts, shattering the old record of 10 set by Mason City’s Austin Maginnis in 2005-06.

Junior forward Ben Sinnott set the high mark for goals in a single season with 54, overtaking the previous record of 52 set by Des Moines Oak Leafs Joseph Harcharik in 2005-06. Sinnott also logged 38 assists for a point total of 92.

The Omaha Jr. Lancers will be the Junior Varsity tournament’s number-one seed after capturing the regular season championship with 29 wins and 2 losses.

Names of the 2018-2019 Midwest High School Hockey League All-Stars have been announced. First and Second-Team All-Stars are selected by the League’s 13 head coaches.

Link to list of MHSHL All-Stars

The MHSHL All-League Team and Coach-of-the-Year will be announced during the Varsity regular-season awards ceremony following Saturday’s second semifinal game. Coaches select an All-League Team to recognize the year’s top three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender.

The MHSHL is a member of the Pointstreak Scoring Network. For live scoring and complete tournament coverage go to:

For a complete history of the Iowa/Midwest High School Hockey League including year-by-year listings of past champions and statistics, go to the MHSHL Information Vault:

Tag(s): Home  Jr Lancer HSH